Jalan-jalan

Hello! I’m alive! It’s true!

Things have been so busy lately. I haven’t even typed anything up… I’m sitting here in an internet cafe and wishing I liked what I had typed up over the past week about my village and family, but I don’t. I’m going to try and make more of an effort to type a little bit everyday so that when I come to town I have something to post here. My days have been packed with language classes, meetings, eating, adjusting, and hanging with my host family. I’ve been hesitant to spend too much time locked up in my room or out of the house for fear of disrespecting my host family’s hospitality, so I haven’t had much free time. Now that I’m getting into a bit of a routine I’ll hopefully have a spare moment now and then.

Most things here are wonderful. The things I’m having problems with are not what I expected them to be; living with my family, eating delicious Indonesian food, learning bahasa Indonesia, getting around on public transportation, and making friends have all been surprisingly simple, so far. I’ll give myself a little credit though… I’m not surprised I’ve adapted so well (thusfar). I did read, however, that the initial phase of culture shock is euphoria, so we’ll see.

I’m terribly sorry that I don’t have much more to say right now… I’ll do my best to type something up this week and post it on Friday when I’ll be at a university (with wireless internet!) for meetings all day.

Today I love, a la Emily: durian feasts, spiders as big as my hand, keffir lime leaves, Diana, recon missions, pisang Bart, malaria medication induced hallucinatory dreams, being interviewed by Indonesian journalists and speaking very little English with them, my host dad (and family), not drinking sweetened condensed milk for breakfast, and the women of my village.  

XOXO,
Sam!

4 thoughts on “Jalan-jalan”

  1. Hello my fellow Peace Corp Volunteer. I hope this message finds you well. My name is Farfum Ladroma and I am an education volunteer in the Kingdom of Tonga in the South Pacific. I am writing to you all today because I need your help! My students and I at GPS MATAMAKA (an outer-island Government Primary School in Vava’u) are pursuing a “POSTCARD PROJECT.” I am asking for other PCVs outside of Tonga to please send us a postcard from your host country. We are trying to collect as many postcards from around the world, especially in countries where Peace Corps is currently operating. This project will help enhance my student’s understanding of other cultures and share what Peace Corps volunteers do all across the globe. I will keep a running list of all the postcards received with their origin on my blog at: http://farfumandtonga.blogspot.com/. You may check if your postcard successfully makes it to Tonga. This will be a great cultural exchange for everyone involved and a lot of fun. Please help out if you can and tell everyone you know (even your friends and families back home)! I would greatly appreciate your participation. Thank you very much and malo ‘aupito mei Tonga.
    Please send postcards to:
    MATAMAKA GPS
    c/o Peace Corps
    P.O. Box 136
    Neiafu, VAVA’U
    KINGDOM OF TONGA
    SOUTH PACIFIC

    Best,
    -Farfum (aka Feleti)

    Like

  2. hello there daughter, I though I would have heard from you this past weekend, but you must have been busy.not to much going on at the farm, well there is. we are now proud owner”s of three baby nigerian dwarf goats:) they will be about the same size as shimmer when they get older. one male and two females. levie is the boy, bella and mandy are the girls. they are way cute. I will try and send you a pic when we get them, they were just born two weeks ago, so we cant get them until the end of april.thats the exciting news. it sounds like you are ajusting to your new home well, oh I hate spiders!!!! anyway are you teaching yet? and I am shure you are speaking the language pretty well by now. easter weekend was the first I had off in three weeks, never thought I would work sundays there, but we are, and uncle sam just loves me lol.the dogs are starting to bother me, guess they have to go out, so I will write some more soon. take care honey. love you lots oh did I tell you that I am really proud of you:) have fun Dad

    Like

    1. ooh! sounds great about those goats. can’t wait to see a photo. everything is going well! if you call mom you can get my phone number. i can’t call you because it’s too expensive for me. if you get my number from mom and call me sometime sunday morning, it will be my sunday evening and i’ll be free. thanks dad! hello to all and thanks for the update! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

